My thoughts on Nyos Instant Plankton Coral/Invert food- What's your opinion on it?

Coralsdaily

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Everyone, Steven here. Thank you for joining me again to discuss coral feeding. Today I will provide you my honest opinion on Nyos Instant Plankton.

Disclaimer 1: I am by no means a marine scientist or claim to be a nutrition expert for corals. I am purely expressing my opinion on the products. I welcome anyone with expert knowledge in this topic to provide your feedback.
Disclaimer 2: I was not paid or endorsed to provide the review. This review is 100% personal opinion.
If you’d like to skip the reading and hear my opinion and watch me dose this food into the tank, feel free to click the video below:

First, some facts:
This food is produced by German company Nyos. It comes in a bottle of powder weighing 60 grams, and is sold for $19.99 USD per bottle.
nyos instant plankton

According to the label, the ingredients contains: marine protein (not really sure what that means), marine oils, algae extracts, phospholipids (fat), minerals, vitamin pre-mixture, antioxidants.

Guaranteed analysis: Crude protein 54.2%, crude fat 14.8%, crude fiber 1.3%, ash 20.8%.

nyos instant plankton

So I have a few questions up to this point:
  1. Why are manufacturers allowed to provide such vague description on ingredients? What exactly is marine protein and marine oil? Where are they sourced and what’s the ACTUAL raw ingredients? I don’t find this label confident earners.
  2. What exactly is important to corals? Do corals really need fat? I can see fat being beneficial to inverts, but corals? If you have good insight in this please share.
  3. Why is there such a high % of “ash”. Personally when I see “ash” I think filler. correct me if I am wrong but I don’t believe there is any nutritional value in ash, am I wrong? so why am I paying 1/5 of my money for something that has no value in it?