My "Un-Reef-Ready" RedSea 300 XL "Mini-Peninsula"

Schpample

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Brand newbie here! Just getting started in the hobby, and already biting off a pretty heavy tank customization. My girlfriend and I are super excited about getting into reefing, watching ALL of the BRS 160 vids and soaking up info.

We picked out a RedSea 300 XL setup they had in stock at our LFS after hunting around a bit and deciding it was the right size for a room-divider type spot in our basement. The spot lends itself really well to a look-through tank, but the RS Peninsula 500 is way to big for the space, so... we decided to go with the 300 XL and just pull off the black liner. The overflow tower would be in the way, but it would be better than nothing.

We brought the tank home, set it in place and pretty much immediately pulled off the black background film. We were thrilled with the result! The tank looked awesome in its new position and the look-through style fit super well in the room. But... I'm a relentless tinkerer, and the tank looked so good I already that I couldn't fight off the the thought that fully converting it to a custom peninsula tank was something that just HAD to happen.

I got started the other night, and spent a few hours VERY carefully cutting the overflow tower out of the tank armed with a razor blade, and a healthy dose of moxy. Went really well overall, and the glass cleaned up very nicely with the razor and some patience.

Plan from here is to drill the glass on the wall end for overflow, return, and a half-depth strainer drain for easy water changes. Been waiting a few days now to hear back from RS to verify that the glass is not tempered, and is therefore drillable. If it turns out to be tempered, we'll just have to settle for a hang-on pumped syphon overflow despite the drawbacks, we're just too in love with the look through peninsula at this point to consider turning back.