Nano-tanks costs and management

NeverBeenEasier

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I'm new to the community.

I've recently considered maybe starting up an ultra-nano saltwater reef tank. I have a few leftover Kimchi containers that are probably around 1 to 1.5 gallons. If I had to guess the dimensions, diameter is around 8 inches and around 1 to 1.5 feet tall. As you probably have guessed by now, it is cylindrical.

I'm rather limited on money and was wondering how much it would cost to run a bare-minimum reef tank set-up?

I'm completely new to the hobby, but I do have some unrelated experience as I am a proud owner of mantellas in my 25-gallon vivarium set-up.

I assume for a tank like this I would need some lights (special kind? I assume some sort of UV spectrum bulbs), sand, small filter pump (is this required for a tank with live rocks/corals?), a heater?

Any guidance and suggestions would be appreciated. I don't mind the tank being completely empty of inhabitants with only corals, but it would be nice to have maybe a shrimp or two and maybe a fish.

Thanks!

fish farmer

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Search for jar reefs here or pico reefs.
Here's a link for direction.

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Honestly better to get a 5 or 10 gallon tank. They are pretty cheap. That way you are not tempted to put any fish or inverts into that teeny tiny tank.

damsels are not mean

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I'm new to the community.

I've recently considered maybe starting up an ultra-nano saltwater reef tank. I have a few leftover Kimchi containers that are probably around 1 to 1.5 gallons. If I had to guess the dimensions, diameter is around 8 inches and around 1 to 1.5 feet tall. As you probably have guessed by now, it is cylindrical.