Need advice for 209 gallon custom reef tank overflow and plumbing.

maddox

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, everyone,

I am new at saltwater hobby, just having 6 months 30 gallon FOWLR tank with hob filter. I now i move to new house where I made a place for my new 209 gallon (792liters) custom tank, dimensions 2286mm X 580mm X 680mm(h) = 90inch X 22.83inch X 26.77inch water level i need to be not less than 630mm (24.80inch) because it will have cabinet over it and I don`t want to see water line. Problem is thant I never had tank with sump. So plumbing and overflow and flow turnovers are making lots of question for me. I have read lots of articles and youtube views, just want to be sure i am doing right. I have found guys who will make me custom tank but I need to tell them all dimensions of overflow. I am planning beam animal overflow as I understand its best and silent, and I want it to be in the center because my two sides and long one will be visible. The back will be just few mm from wall, so overflow will be inside tank.
So my (1st) question will be how long weir should I make? My thoughts would be longest 20 inch + both sides 5inch. So maybe I need longer ?
(2nd) What pipe diameters I need for drain? I was looking in waterbox 320 spec. for example and there was 2 drains DN25(1inch) and emergency DN32(1 1 /4inch) and return pipe was DN25(1inch) does it will work for me also? And is this internal diameter or just pipes diameter?
(3rd) Then what return pump I need, my thoughts if my head pressure will be about 10ft. and i am planning manifold in the same return line and pump.(correct me if its bad decision). Pump could be 15000LPH ? Just for example Jebao DCP 15000. or could it be stronger and you just reduce it with controller to not work in highest mode. But then question if someday it may fault and lets say stuck on max and then flood my tank? or my overflow and emergency will be enough to drain if this happen.