Need advice: Temporarily "abandoning" a simple nano tank in NYC.

Perpetual Novice

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I always seem to post on behalf of my friend in NYC who is a passionate and extreemly enthusiastic novice in the hobby. His job has insane (I suspect technically illegal) hours and leaves him almost no free time. but what time he has is hevily donated to his 4 month old fluval sea evo 13.5 setup. I'm no expert but I am trying my best to be his lifeline and do the research for him that he doesnt have the time to do himself. And this time Im at a loss.

Amidst the pamic of the coronavirus he has left his apartment and was sent to work remotely from a different state leaving his tank behind with only a days notice. He called me in a panic to ask what to do and I just dont know. he did a water change, topped off the water as much as possible, dumped in seveal days worth of food, and left.

The setup:
bengai cardinal
royal gramma
serpent star
hermits
snails
unidentifid xenia/clove polyps?
zoas
disco mushrooms
significant live rock
deep sand bed
maintains nitrates at 20-40
feeds flake food and was unsuccessfully trying to transition to pellets

The question is what should he do now? How long can the fish survive without food? If both fish die would it be enough bioload to spike ammonia to where it kills the inverts and coral and crashes the tank?

He is struggling to find or hire someone to care for the tank and doesnt think hell be back for possibly over a month. Any advice? I live 3 hours away and cant lend him a hand.

albano

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure which is worse... dumping in too much food or not having automatic top off for a month!