Need help for neighbor. BTA issue?

Clarinuto

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My older neighbor’s son set up a saltwater aquarium in their home a couple years ago and is away working out of state. One of the livestock is a rose bubble tip anemone. He wanted my advice because he knows I have aquariums (not realizing I’m a newb myself to saltwater). He said that the anemone used to glow in the evenings and now it doesn’t anymore. It’s gotten more brown and less of a pink glow. I assume that means it has expelled it’s zooxanthellae, but I have no idea how to help him troubleshoot why the anemone expelled it.

Any advice on how to help? It’s definitely not bleached at this point (I’ve seen bleached anemones at petco and they were stark white; this one is more of a dingy tan with a bit of pink under white lights, but no glow under blue). I could also use help with how to revive the anemone’s zooxanthellae. I’ve read that some people will feed them daily to help and that others advise not to feed so frequently as they can have issues being overfed also. So I’m really unsure of what to tell him!

He’s considering trying to sell it to a pet store. Not sure they would take the anemone in this case since it isn’t a recent purchase. It appears healthy, closed tight mouth and will eat when fed. However, it has lost its bubbles and doesn’t glow. All help is appreciated.

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What type of lighting does he have and how long was it in the tank ?

OP
OP
Clarinuto

Clarinuto

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank is a couple years old. He doesn’t know the exact timing. He has 2 T5 bulbs and leds. I will have to go back over to see what specific kind they are.

James M

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tank is a couple years old. He doesn’t know the exact timing. He has 2 T5 bulbs and leds. I will have to go back over to see what specific kind they are.