Need help please

1sttymereefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to reef keeping, tank has been set up set up since Nov now. Can someone please tell me was the pink growing on my rock is?, possible cause for?, and is it good to have or not? Thank you for any advise

20190303_090547.jpeg

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First allow me to say, 'Welcome to R2R!'

welcome 4.jpg

It's hard to say if that pink is the start of some coraline algae, a very good thing and most likely IMHO. Or it could be some cyano bacteria, a not so good thing but not a huge issue and far less likely.

If you would like to get a lot more replies to your post, we could move it to one of a couple other forums that get a lot more eyes than it does here. But if you are part of this group (Florida Reef Keepers) and want it to stay here, that's perfectly OK as well. I'm just offering so more people might give you more replies.

Good luck. I'll follow this thread to see what you would like to do.

dansreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Most likely coralline growing....which is good. Your tank will go through a lot of change in the coming months. Be patient. Don't worry that everything is bad or that you need to react right away. Young tanks like yours will go through "ugly" stages for a few months. It is all good. Just make sure that your parameters are stable and in good ranges. Sit back and watch the changes happen. Also, go slowly with adding livestock.

Enjoy!

OP
OP
1sttymereefer

1sttymereefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First allow me to say, 'Welcome to R2R!'

welcome 4.jpg

It's hard to say if that pink is the start of some coraline algae, a very good thing and most likely IMHO. Or it could be some cyano bacteria, a not so good thing but not a huge issue and far less likely.