Need help with AFR dosing - not enough mag but too much Alk ?

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

Idech

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I’ve been using All for reef (powder) for about 2 1/2 months and the tank is 5 months old (some of the rocks are 12 months old).

I started at 4 ml and slowly increased to get the right amount of nutrients. Right now I’m at 9,0 ml per day. It’s doing a good job at maintaining calcium but I can’t seem to get magnesium higher without also raising alkalinity.

Here is my question : should keep upping the AFR daily dose, despite the alkalinity rising, or find another separate supplement just for magnesium ?

Here are my parameters :
Nitrates : 22
Phosphates : 0,11
PH : 8,0
Salinity : 1,0255
Alk : 9,0 (was 8,5 last week, before I upped my dose from 7,0 ml to 9,0 ml)
Calc : 440
Magnesium : 1180 (was 1160 last week before upping the AFR dose)

ABEAA77A-1456-4B5B-AD96-FD050B463614.jpeg

Thanks for your help !

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I find that I need to supplement a little extra magnesium occasionally while using all for reef. I blame my refugium. Dose the all for reef according to calcium and alk intake, and supplement the magnesium. It might be possible to add more magnesium to the mix but I would double check with tropic marin.

OP
OP
Idech

Idech

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I find that I need to supplement a little extra magnesium occasionally while using all for reef. I blame my refugium. Dose the all for reef according to calcium and alk intake, and supplement the magnesium. It might be possible to add more magnesium to the mix but I would double check with tropic marin.
Great, thanks ! Is Seachem reef advantage magnesium okay ? I’ve read it was a good choice.

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0