Neptune sky mounting options?

NanoReefLovers

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
784
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Odessa
Hey all. This is for those who already have the Sky ordered.

I am trying to figure out a way to hang them using my existing 80/20 extruded aluminum rails. I got a few potential options ready. I have some AI mounting brackets and a pair of the Ecotech XR30 g5 mounting brackets and a rail. So far I cannot envision how it will work. I am hoping some of you all,early adopters, will be problem solvers with me.

The first picture is the 2 rails I have ready.
Picture 2 is my current mount.
picture 3 is the AI bracket
And the last on is the Radion XR30 G5

looking forward to reading some ideas

3AF0475B-3387-4C55-B9ED-198B888A7AA5.jpeg 86A8AE5F-A6CA-4E8B-B060-3FFD1D17AB54.jpeg CF9658E9-59C2-42AB-AF92-061AA8F18F94.jpeg BDBE7182-6AC6-4B4B-8A37-B29437A1E5FF.jpeg
 
OP
NanoReefLovers

NanoReefLovers

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
784
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Odessa
The radion xr30 mount and radion rail is plug and play. Sky has the exact same bolt pattern as the xr30.
Yes. I understand that. That is why I have one ready. What I am asking is who has other ideas in mind for hanging them. I posted pics of my current rails as I am looking for ideas on how I might integrate them with what I already have.

I appreciate your response and welcome more ideas if you have them too
 

Jon's Reef

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
686
Reaction score
657
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Madison, WI
I would attach the radion rail to your existing 80/20. Drill a hole through the radion rail, put a t-nut in the 80/20 and you are good to go. You could attach the xr30 mount directly to the 80/20, but it will not look as nice IMO.
 
OP
NanoReefLovers

NanoReefLovers

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
784
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Odessa
I would attach the radion rail to your existing 80/20. Drill a hole through the radion rail, put a t-nut in the 80/20 and you are good to go. You could attach the xr30 mount directly to the 80/20, but it will not look as nice IMO.
I like this idea. Thank you. I may try this.
 
OP
NanoReefLovers

NanoReefLovers

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
784
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Odessa
I would attach the radion rail to your existing 80/20. Drill a hole through the radion rail, put a t-nut in the 80/20 and you are good to go. You could attach the xr30 mount directly to the 80/20, but it will not look as nice IMO.
This is exactly what I did. In my opinion it came out really well. Looks clean and neat.

In this picture the lights are up but I have not managed the cables. Also I will be building a frame to go around the lights. This is why the 80/20 sticks out in the front.
D726D7B6-4375-47B1-A2CF-6D94E7E02BDB.jpeg
 

ZzzDerekzzZ

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mansfield
Anyone use anything else to mount the sky? I have three but I just used the ****** cables and hooks I made for my radions years back. Would really love to upgrade
I plan on using 2 AI 16HD Mounts attached to a Radion G5 Bracket. I'm using 2 AI Mounts per Apex Sky because I'm worried about the weight of the Sky. I'm planning to use a small block of Aluminum to attach the G5 Bracket to the AI Mounts. Drill and Tap a some holes in my aluminum block; 1 tapped hole for each Swivel Bolt on the AI Mounts and 2 tapped holes to match the 2 holes on the G5 bracket. (the AI Swivel Bolt is not pictured in the photo I took)

I just grabbed a small block of Aluminum, marked the tapped hole locations with a marker to help explain what I'm talking about. This is not the block of aluminum I plan to use.

I may decide to use 1 AI Mount per Apex Sky, and use something to disperse the weight between the clamp screw and the glass on the rim of my aquarium.. I don't want to stress out the glass on my Waterbox 130.4 . Thats why I'm thinking of 2 AI Mounts per Sky
16323561355177782893786373624304.jpg 31NCVjh7BgL._AC_SY580_.jpg
 
Last edited:
OP
NanoReefLovers

NanoReefLovers

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
784
Reaction score
1,116
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Odessa
I'm using 2 AI Mounts per Apex Sky because I'm worried about the weight of the Sky.
Just an FYI the Neptune Ski is lighter than the Radion and the AI Hydra.
I may decide to use 1 AI Mount per Apex Sky, and use something to disperse the weight between the clamp screw and the glass on the rim of my aquarium.. I don't want to stress out the glass on my Waterbox 130.4 . Thats why I'm thinking of 2 AI Mounts per Sk
I don’t think you will need two mountsbut on my old tank I had a Radion XR30 with the ReefBrights T5 retro fit kit. I was concerned with stressing the glass so I had gotten plastic paint stir stick and cut it in half. I put one half on each side of the glass to help disperse the weight a bit. It seemed to work as I had it on there for over 2 years and it was HEAVY!
 

ARE YOU PROUD OR EMBARRASSED OF YOUR REEF TANK?

  • Proud

    Votes: 227 58.4%
  • Embarrassed

    Votes: 49 12.6%
  • Neither proud or embarrassed

    Votes: 96 24.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 17 4.4%
Coral-vault.com
Top