New 75 gallon tank with a lot of algae. Please help

sezaro21

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone. I've been keeping freshwater fish tanks for the past 20 years and this year, I decided to start my first saltwater setup. I converted my 75 gallon freshwater setup over to saltwater. I started the tank the last week of December. I used 80lbs of live sand, 60 lbs of dry rock, 2 bottles of Dr Tim's 1 and only bacteria. I used the first bottle the day I set up the tank and the 2nd bottle the 2nd week. For filtering I used to 2 Fluval FX4 canister filters because that is what I used on the tank before converting it to saltwater. They are I great condition so I didn't see the need to get rid of them. I ran 1 Hydor Koralia 1350 powerhead. When I set up the tank, I used tap water with Red sea salt. I did 10-15 gallon weekly water changes with store bought RODI water and Instant Ocean salt. The last water changes I used sand, filter ocean water that is brought in from about 200 yard from the beach at a marine biology institute. I have gone through the nitrogen cycle I believe as I've had my ammonia and nitrite skipped which have gone down to zero. After 2 weeks of start up, I was told it was ok to add a few fish so I added a pair of clowns, a purple firefish and a red firefish and a cleaner shrimp. After testing water again 2 weeks later with good results I was told it was ok to add more fish so I added a diamond goby, a YWG with a tiger pistol shrimp and a royal gramma.
My current parameters are:
ammonia 0,
nitrite 0,
nitrate 15,
PH 8.4,
Salinity 1.025,
Phosphate .5-1,
Temp 79