New Angel Wont Eat....Has Bacterial Infection...Help!

ronsgirl520

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, so I am new to this hobby and need some advise. My "fish guy" called me and said he had one of my fish on my wish list. A extra large emperor angel had just arrived off the truck at the wholesalers. It was still in the bag it came in. I asked if he had seen it and he said no as he didnt want to open the bag and then have to re bag it if I wanted it. So I took the risk and said, OK get it!

Well, I knew better and now paying for it. I brought the fish home and did a fresh water dip for 10 mins before adding him to my quarantine tank. When I added him he spazzed out and started running face first into the sides of the aquarium like he had never been in one before. Im assuming he came straight from the ocean...no clue! I noticed he had a red sore on his chin and started bleeding when he was ramming his face into the side of my tank 6 times. He wouldnt eat, which i know is common due to the stress. I was told that angels wont eat for up to 2 weeks sometimes and very hard to get them to eat. 2 days later, I noticed a red sore on his side about a half inch behind his fin. I took a pick with the conclusion it was a bacterial infection. I went to a local fish store and showed the owner my pic. He said it looked like a bacterial infection and told me to treat him with Furan.

I have done 5 days of treatment so far and the red spot on his chin is gone and the red spot on the side is about a 1/4 of the size it was, but still there. I plan on continueing treatment untilt its gone. He will not eat though. Ive tried dried seaweed and pellets. Im sure he has no idea what the pellets are so not surprised he wont eat those. But the seaweed will float right in front of his face, he will look at it, then swim away from it. He is swimming great and doesnt look skinny.