New aquarium

iguess09

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I’m new to aquariums in general and am working on building my first one. It will mostly be an LPS tank with 2-3 fish. It’s a 70 gallon aquarium with a 30 gallon sump.

When it comes to heating, does it make sense to use two heaters and controllers instead of one just in case one fails?

For a quarantine tank, do you need a separate tank for corals and fish or can they share the tank.

PeterEde

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
On the question of heating. What if you live in an area where summer temps and indoor temps get over 30degC
Do you need to then cool the tank.
Are there systems with heating and cooling giving a real climate control option

TastesLikeChicken

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
2 undersized heaters is much better than one sized or oversized. That way chances of overheating are low. Also good to have some type of a backup shut off mechanism.

There are chillers. They tend to be expensive. But if you live in a hot part of the country they may be necessary in the summer. I don’t know of any chiller that also has a heater but I could be wrong.

You can have the same quarantine tank if you are not going to medicate. The moment you medicate your fish, especially with copper, you will need to have separate ones because they will kill any invertebrates including corrals.

In my humble opinion, and many may disagree with me, having an unmedicated QT for fish is analogous to using a condom with a hole at the end. Hope I don’t offend anyone.

OP
OP
iguess09

iguess09

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
2 undersized heaters is much better than one sized or oversized. That way chances of overheating are low. Also good to have some type of a backup shut off mechanism.