New BTA, Black/brown stuff in mouth

stefanis.gonczar

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I have recently purchased a BTA 3 days ago. I am New to this Hobby and have only had my reef tank up and running for 7 months. I have heard that BTAs do a lot of weird things that freak many people out but usually/sometimes nothing to worry about. The reason I am posting this thread is because my BTA had shrivelled and was expelling brown stringy stuff last night. Although I do know this is a common behaviour for new BTAs acclimating. But what has me worried is that he rexpanded and I see a black ball in his mouth trying to come out. It’s the next morning and the ball has not moved still in his mouth. The BTA is expanded and does not look bad and is getting larger. This morning his mouth was closed for sure with the blackish ball is around his mouth. I have tried lightly blowing it with a Baster to try and see if it would blow away and out but it seems like the BTA is holding on to it inside of his mouth. Now his mouth is open and the ball is still in their but BTA does not look that bad. I will add pictures of my BTA and if anyone could let me know if this is something I should worry about.
My system is a 10 gallon with 2 clowns and a cleaner shrimp. Only 2 corals one tourch and the other a hammer whitch are both doing fine so far.
Water parameters are
Mag: 1500 (I keep it higher for LPS)
Cal: 450
Alk: 11.9 (I am trying to lower back down to 8.9)
Nitrates: 5-10ppm
Phosphate: 70ppb
Any insight on my problem would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

F9012C32-E991-42E3-81DF-9CFF08B049E8.jpeg
A590BF87-541F-4D5B-81CC-6C490D69C7DD.jpeg
DA0ACD3F-2E55-40EC-96E6-941F0DF88A5C.jpeg
3678DA03-F938-4266-8394-23F6A6BFE6CB.jpeg

MysticBlue

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,