New hobby, some advice would be appreatiated

ArsenalFish42

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
I am new to the hobby in a sense of I am going to be setting up a saltwater aquarium at home for the first time. I have worked at a pet store for a couple of years part time in the fish department, and know quite a bit (enough to get myself by). Although, every tank I have done maintenance to has been setup already and for a long time. I have never started a tank from scratch. I am looking at the IM fusion 30L, due to the space I have, and know very well it'll be more work. I was looking at using a Aquafuge HOB refugium, but my question is what size Aquafuge would be best? seeing as they have 3 different sizes. is the large one too big? is too big an issue? the tank specs are 36"L 15"W, and 13"H.
Thank you!

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMO a sump/fudge cannot be too big— so long as the flow level is set properly. If the sump drains up the the display and dumps everywhere that’ll be an issue. The same issue can be said about a pump not pumping up fast/hard enough — the sump with overflow from DT.

Some people have more water in various sumps and refugiums than they do in their DT. No issue!

Short answer is no but as you would anyway get an adjustable flow return pump and tune it where you want it :)

Also welcome home, you will love it here! :)

OP
OP
A

ArsenalFish42

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMO a sump/fudge cannot be too big— so long as the flow level is set properly. If the sump drains up the the display and dumps everywhere that’ll be an issue. The same issue can be said about a pump not pumping up fast/hard enough — the sump with overflow from DT.

Some people have more water in various sumps and refugiums than they do in their DT. No issue!

Short answer is no but as you would anyway get an adjustable flow return pump and tune it where you want it :)