New idea (for me :) for frozen food strainer.

Scrappy RN

I'm your Huckleberry!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm relatively new at this hobby and am still in the phase of figuring out how exactly to do things like, "thaw shrimp food cube, strain water off of shrimp, and soak them in several drops of nutrient solution for 3 minutes."

It sounds pretty straight forward until you're standing there with a tiny cube of frozen shrimp and think, how the heck am I going to do that?! o_O My kitchen strainer is NOT going to work here.

Then, the idea hits me! I have a self-packing coffee pod thingy. Perfect! So I thought I'd share my idea with other newbys who may also be in the process of figuring these types of things out. I got a set of four of these for Christmas last year. I've seen the 4-packs for less than $10 and it worked great! I do highly recommend you label it and keep it with your aquarium supplies if you don't want complaints from the coffee-drinking members of your family. :D

Here's the pics. I happened to win this bottle of Brightwell Aquatics MaxAmino stuff to soak your food in for even better nutrition so I was giving it a try.

Enjoy!

0810172213.jpg
0810172213a.jpg
0810172214.jpg
0810172214a.jpg
0810172215.jpg
0810172215a.jpg
0810172217.jpg

OP
OP
Scrappy RN

Scrappy RN

I'm your Huckleberry!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lol, my smallest strainer would have let all the shrimp through, hence the dilemma. You should have seen the look on my daughter's face when she saw me doing that with her gift, haha! I did tell her I didn't put it in the Keurig she got me too. [emoji13]

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0