New Mantis build

Captain_Glass

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’ve been wanting a peacock for quite a long time and my wife surprised me with my own man cave for our anniversary, so now I’ve got a spot to start. I bought an acrylic tank that measures 30 inches wide x 24 inches in height and 18 inches in depth. It came with a stand that I definitely will be painting and having my sister who is amazing with aquatic art paint something cool on the side. But more important is what is going inside. Which is mainly going to be focused on the peacock.

I am brand new to this and any and all help / constructive criticism will be much appreciated. When I bought the tank on CL it came with a tetra whisper 30-60 filter and all the filters for it, a digital heater, a simple daylight t8 bulb and fixture and a bubble machine.

So far I have filled it with ro/di water from my local lfs and gotten some top fin sand and some of that Fiji pink live sand on top and am planning on going to get more after reading suggestions of having a deeper sand bed than an average of 2 inches. I bought some live rock from one of my lfs and one of the artificial painted rocks with bacteria on it. And was told to put a couple of damsels in to start with the nitrates and ammonia part of the cycle after they tested the water and everything else was good.

My wife went with me yesterday and she fell in love with some corals so she bought a couple that the guy said would do well in a low light environment.

image.jpg

OP
OP
C

Captain_Glass

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0