New tank cycling question

LSReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm brand new to reef keeping and am currently in the process of setting up my first tank

To start my cycle I've been adding 1/2 cube of frozen Mysis shrimp every 2nd day and dosing with Continuum Bacter genM bacteria for about a week. I've been testing with the Red Sea marine care kit, however the ammonia readings have not moved from 0 (nitrites & nitrates also at 0).

My question is - Is this normal? Should I be expecting to see some ammonia by now or does it usually take a few weeks for the shrimp to breakdown and release ammonia to start the cycle off?

My tank is: 244L including sump, skimmer is not on, temp at 25C, pH 8.3, SG 1.025, DKH 6 (which I think is a bit low but the pH hasn't changed and as its to soon for fish/coral so my LFS said not to worry about it yet)

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We need to know if your rocks were dry or wet when you brought them into the tank, that matters 100% because wet rocks are already done cycling and sometimes lfs sell bottle bac anyway as if they aren’t

for dry rock setups you’re on the right track simply do this trick: let this all stew for fourteen days, change the water for new fresh saltwater, and it’s all cycled by the rule of wait time. The param measures don’t matter it’ll be done by then

Upvote 0
OP
OP
L

LSReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
We need to know if your rocks were dry or wet when you brought them into the tank, that matters 100% because wet rocks are already done cycling and sometimes lfs sell bottle bac anyway as if they aren’t

for dry rock setups you’re on the right track simply do this trick: let this all stew for fourteen days, change the water for new fresh saltwater, and it’s all cycled by the rule of wait time. The param measures don’t matter it’ll be done by then