New tank - stocking order checklist

dorz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I've just set up my second marine aquarium which is a bare bottom 5ftx2ftx2ft 170 gallon (total system volume) aquarium and it's at the stage where I'm ready to get the first fish. Just for reference, my first aquarium is a 90Gal LPS dominated with a few 'easy' SPS i.e I'm not a complete beginner and am looking to progress into mainly SPS with this new one.

After weeks of refinement, this is what I'm looking at getting:

Group 1

6 x Carberryi Anthias - saw a brilliant thread on here about Anthias which helped me decide having never had Anthias before.

Group 2

1 x Royal Gramma
1 x Scarlett Hawkfish
1 x Dusky Yellow Tail Blenny

Group 3

1 x Orchard Dottyback
1 x Starcki Damsel
2 x Clarkii Clown Fish (No nem)

Group 4

2 x Convict Tang
1 x Yellow Tang
1 x Yellow Eye Kole Tang
1 x Flame Angel (still not 100% sure about this one given the coral situation)

I plan to QT everything as I usually do but for the first time I'd like to use CP, I must admit I've not done my research into the compatibility of this with most of the fish I have in this list but will in due course and adjust my strategy accordingly subject to what I learn. I just wanted to know right now if my stocking order and general list looked ok?

I have two QT tanks available so if I was to get the 6 Anthias in the main display first and leave them to settle in for a while I could then put Groups 2 and 3, (which would be in separate QT tanks) in the main display at the same time as each other. Would this be sensible? As there's fish in those groups which I see squabbling until they all get to know their place with each other. So my thinking is if they all go in at the same time its a level playing field for them all.

Also can a tank this size house 4 tangs?

Thanks for looking, any input / 2nd opinions would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Dragon52

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%