New to hobby. And it’s all because of BRS.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

John Michael

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok, so I’ve been keeping fresh water cichlids for a few years with great success. One evening I was on YouTube and as usual went down the rabbit hole of watching fish videos and came across one of BRS 52weeks of reefing videos and have been hooked ever since. I’ve never put thought into having a reef tank but thanks to BRS I got the bug.

So, I’ve decided I’m gonna take on the challenge of getting into the hobby and document every step of the way with you guys. I want to remind you all that I have had no knowledge of reefing up intill 30days ago and have never done anything remotely like this.
The Challenge:
Only use BRS videos and BRS forums as the source of information.
Be Budget friendly. Expectations is having good quality but at a decent price.
Grow LPS and Soft corals while keep a medium stocking level of fish.
Start with nothing but the tank.

Plan:
Get a 6 stage RO/DI unit with two 75gallon water storage tank to creat saltwater. (Water change/mixing station.
Convert a fresh water 4ft 75 gallon tank (which I have already) into a reef tank.
drill a total of 4 holes. Two return holes and two overflow holes in the center of the tank.
Get a sump that fits into my stand that has a refugium
Hard plum the entire tank using PVC including a manifold.
Select and purchase water heaters.
Select and purchase affordable wave makers and rerun pump.
Select and Get about 80lbs of rock to aquascape with.
Selecting a substrate
Selecting a salt and start up cycling supplies
Begin the cycle process with rock in tank.
Select a ATO system.
Select a lighting unit for the aquarium.
(LED, or hybrid of LED and T5)
Selecting a skimmer, GFO,and Carbon reactor for the refugium and a pellet tumbler
Selecting a good test kit and begin to test the water.
Selecting lighting and start up supplies for the refugium.