new to marine aquatics with a fluval 13.5 aquarium with questions about rocks and course coral sand

kmhighsealevel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this form of hobby but have started with a positive attitude and hope for the best moving forward.
I began on a budget with a used, stock evo 13.5 tank, led light, pump, heater and it also included a protein skimmer. I added a circulating pump to increase water movement with the intent of eventually having a bit of coral and maybe an anemone to go along with some shrimp, crab and snails as well as 2-3 fish. The stock foam filter is new and so is the carbon and bio bags, also stock items for the fluval evo. Will be changing the carbon next week as recommended.
I have established a constant temp of 78 degrees and a Ph of 7.8 with SG at 1.024 to 1.026 and am in my third week of operation with two 20% water changes. So far so good. The ammonia levels were high initially (between 2.0 and 4.0) but have fallen now to 0 or 0.025 (hard to say exact tone of yellow) and the nitrite levels are falling and currently around 1.0 or less. The nitrate level is around 2.0 at the moment.
I started with some donated rock that was live but had been out of the tank for about one month or more (dry? I guess) and the same for the coarse coral sand (gravel?)
It appears that things are going in the right direction on their own so my first question is:
Is it safe to add a crab and or snail(s) to get things going and add something to watch rather than the occasional little floaty item?
Are there risks I should be aware of for using this rock and sand and not live rock and sand from the LFS?
Should my ph level be above 8.0 or is 7.8 acceptable?
My intent was to have things progress slowly and naturally and it looks like that is happening but do not want to kill my first introduction to the tank if it is not ready. (insert crying emoji here)