New to reefing and looking for some tips on water and cleaning.

skyetoskye

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am very new to reefing and taking my time to learn while also giving myself time to get the right equipment.

to start off, I got the red sea reefer tank second hand, 170litre display and a 30 litre sump. For the first while I’m going to use premixed water but I can’t figure out how much I should be getting. Of course I need to fill the tank but I’m wondering what recommendations you have for how much extra I should get. Should I get for example 100 litres extra?

The place I’m getting my water from deliver very quickly and incase of emergency I can pick it up myself. To be safe would 50litres extra cover me for the first week or two?

As well, I got some secondhand good quality live rock (It I’d dry and “dead” now, was already dried up before I got it) and I’m wondering what is the best way to clean it? I’ve seen a lot of debate online so thought I’d ask first to be safe.

thanks in advance, I’m very excited to get started this has been a dream for a long time:)

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

Upvote 0

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Hello, I am very new to reefing and taking my time to learn while also giving myself time to get the right equipment.

to start off, I got the red sea reefer tank second hand, 170litre display and a 30 litre sump. For the first while I’m going to use premixed water but I can’t figure out how much I should be getting. Of course I need to fill the tank but I’m wondering what recommendations you have for how much extra I should get. Should I get for example 100 litres extra?