New to saltwater aquarium: my learnings would be posted here

nomoremoney

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi reefers
I am new to this hobby. I don’t own a tank but I love microbiology. and like to learn how the ocean ecosystem works
My goal is to have an SPS tank in future

I am going to keep writing all my notes and learnings here till I get my own tank ( and even after that )

Ecosystem:
My understanding of an ecosystem is an environment in which micro and macro organisms live symbiotically.
and these organisms depends on each other for survival.
Ecosystem follows survival of fittest rule
——-placeholder for learning about ecosystem———

Organism

Bacteria:
Cyanobacteria:

Cyanobacteria uses photosynthesis in direct sunlight.
Uses CO2 and releases oxygen
Generally dissolved oxygen is tank is high at water surface level and low at bottom of the tank.
To avoid having Cyanobacteria, have a really good Dissolved oxygen at the bottom of the tank by having a good flow.
There is a direct relationship between water temperature and dissolved oxygen in tank
Dissolved oxygen is inversely proportional to water temperature meaning as the water temperature increases the dissolved oxygen decrease.
To fight Cyanobacteria, one could decrease water temperature. ( but how low ?)

Third thing ,
Organic decomposition plays an important role , high organic decomposition low Dissolved oxygen.
So having a skimmer helps control Cyanobacteria because you increase DO and effectively reducing Carbon dioxide.

in all the above method we are trying to control Cyanobacteria and not remove it completely, Cyanobacteria is part of the ecosystem and it should be part of the tank.

I am yet to study low nutrient ( high or low ) affect growth of Cyanobacteria
I would also site all the references used in my learning
Mods: I am planing to move my learnings to a different thread altogether and just keep this intro simple

Last edited:

vetteguy53081