New to the forum, new to salt water. . . 5 gallon Fluval EVO reef

MoshJosh

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hello all!!! My name is Josh, and I am new to reef tanks/saltwater tanks. I have kept freshwater fish for a few years now (currently have 5 tanks) and have decided to try my hand at a reef tank.

I ALMOST started a reef tank about 6 months ago, a 20 gallon drop off (that is still in my garage), but the wife wasn't feeling it. . . and now the space I was going to put the tank in no longer exists haha.

Because of the small space I have to work with my options were limited (also due to my budget. . .) so I ended up buying a Fluval EVO 5 gallon (much to my LFSs dismay. . . they said I was "a glutton for punishment". . . maybe they were right).

My goal for this tank is a simple but attractive reef. . . coral, macro algae, and inverts. . . NO fish. And I would like to do so using as much of the stock equipment as possible, namely the stock light. That said, I would like to add a hang on skimmer and an auto top off.

I am going to TRY this ATO:

Auto Top Off

It seems pretty cheesy, and I am a bit skeptical, but there were some decent reviews. One person who reviewed it tested the tank water and top off water after a few days to make sure the salt wasn't "creeping" into the top off. . . and it wasn't. . . though I am sure I will need to do my own testing.

I'm looking at this skimmer:

Skimmer

So here is the tank:

reef.jpg

CaribSea Live sand (that sat in my garage for 6 months, not sure it's still alive), 10 pounds live rock, and a Mangrove tree I found at PetCo (just threw it in until I can modify the lid and actually plant it. No livestock aside from hitch hikers. I have seen a few snails (turbo maybe), and a bristle worm (common maybe)