New to the hobby, did I screw up my first cycle?

raklassen

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, thank you in advance for any help. I'll try to keep it as short as possible. I've just started up my first tank Friday evening. It's an Innovative Marine 30L. For those not familiar, that is an AIO tank that comes with a filter sock and media caddy for carbon, GFO, etc.

As the title says, I'm new to the hobby. I've spent the last few months researching and educating myself as much as possible. I'll be honest, the Cycle process has been a bit confusing for a 'newbie' like myself. I feel I've got a decent grasp of it, but as I've quickly discovered, there is always something new to learn.

On Friday, I went to my 'LFS' and got some much needed help. They got me setup and did a great job of walking me through everything and helped me find the right product to start a 'fishless cycle'. They set me up with Fritz-Zyme Fishless Fuel (ammonia) and the Turbo Start 900. I followed the directions as closely as possible.

Here is where I believe I screwed up. I didn't realize until last night that you are apparently supposed to remove filter media for the cycle process. In all my research I guess I missed that part. The filter sock and media caddy that come with the IM 30L have been in place the entire time.

What should be my next move? Leave as is? Remove the filter's asap? Start the cycle over completely? or just add more of the Turbo Start? I tested 48 hours after adding the fuel to get a starting point and my nitrite and nitrate levels are maxed out for the Salifert test kits. Because of this, I'm hesitant to add more ammonia.

Again, thank you all for any help.

Azedenkae

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0