Newbie cycle, where did I get an ammonia source?

jscliffo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im a total beginner with the saltwater side so thank you in advance for the advice. I just set up my first saltwater tank a couple weeks ago (Waterbox 50.3), I used AragAlive sand and some CarabSea LifeRock. The local fish store had me add Dr. Tim's and told me to wait a week then come back for a couple of clown fish to do a fish-in cycle with a second bottle of Dr. Tims. When I had my water tested the Ammonia and Nitrites were too high to get my first fish. How did I start the cycle when I didnt add an ammonia source? My understanding is that the liferock and AragAlive dont have an ammonia source.

Its really no big deal, I want to wait and be successful with my first fish; scientifically im just a bit confused.

SlugSnorter

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im a total beginner with the saltwater side so thank you in advance for the advice. I just set up my first saltwater tank a couple weeks ago (Waterbox 50.3), I used AragAlive sand and some CarabSea LifeRock. The local fish store had me add Dr. Tim's and told me to wait a week then come back for a couple of clown fish to do a fish-in cycle with a second bottle of Dr. Tims. When I had my water tested the Ammonia and Nitrites were too high to get my first fish. How did I start the cycle when I didnt add an ammonia source? My understanding is that the liferock and AragAlive dont have an ammonia source.

Its really no big deal, I want to wait and be successful with my first fish; scientifically im just a bit confused.
use another lfs i think, nobody with good intention will say to do fish in cycle. You can

A): use bottled ammonia

B): "feed" some fish food every few days, or boil a chunk of shrimp from the super market for 60 seconds and place it in a mesh filter media bag. then put into the tank.

OP
OP
J

jscliffo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0