Newbie here with a Nano tank (or Pico, not sure)

DebraLV

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I recently started a 7.5 gallon Aqueon cube tank. It's only 2 days up. I have Caribsea (20 lbs) of live sand and some skeleton coral, about 50 years old. I have an Aqueon Pro 10 pump and an air stone running. Also an Aqueon preset 78 degree heater. I plan on in a couple of months to put just a clownfish, a damsel in and a crab as a clean up guy.

My issue is all water chemistry tests safe, except for hardness. It's at the 300 GH zone. I used 7 gallons of Arrowhead Spring Water w/Instant Ocean Salt and a gallon of salt treated distilled water. I am just using an Instant Ocean Hydrometer for now and test strips for water chemistry. My salinity is currently at 1.026.

I do not plan on putting fish in this for a couple months while it cycles. My question is will the hardness disappear as time goes on or should I do a water change of half with salt treated distilled water. Also, is my equipment enough to sustain 2 fish and a salt water crab. Thanks so much for any advice as I'm new with a marine tank but an expert with my 29 gallon tropical.

20210812_102534.jpg

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome.
Hardness is a measure of certain minerals in your water.
I would not go by GH (general hardness).
I would find a text kit that measures alkalinity. (dkh)
You want that to be between 8 and 10.

Rtaylor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0