Newbie Question: Durso Overflow

r33fermaddness

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This may be a brainless question to some, however I’m fairly new to this and had some queries regarding overflow weirs with Durso standpipes.

Example:
A10BB67D-DA46-4C68-A610-0C20336D4071.jpeg

My current project: 90g secondhand tank. Still needs a lot of cleaning, and I have a replacement top frame on the way.
Anyway, the back left corner has an overflow weir with holes drilled on the bottom for drain and return plumbing. (In this picture the Durso pipe was not inserted into the bulkhead.)
B78281B3-4800-4F99-AEFA-259820EBB029.jpeg

Excuse the dirtiness, I still have yet to scrub the inside and cover of the overflow.
So to my understanding, once everything is up and running, as water flows through the teeth into the overflow, it will then be sucked into the durso pipe and down to the sump.
Now my question: will water at the bottom of the overflow make its way to the surface to be drawn into the standpipe, and how so? Because how I understand it, once the overflow fills up, only water that’s freshly entered the overflow will be drawn into the Durso and I would think the water at the bottom will become stagnant until stirred upward by an outside force (ie me, purposefully doing so as part of tank maintenance.)
Maybe I’m just not grasping the whole concept of tank flow, but that was something I’ve been pondering as I go through the motions of planning the tank out.
So will the water at the bottom of the overflow eventually get recycled? Or if it doesn’t, is that something I need to worry about and add to the list of maintenance done on a regular basis?

Thanks for any info!

John08007

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Too much to read, put in a herbie overflow, run return up and over the back. Super quiet, will love it. Had mine for years, never had any issues.

JumboShrimp

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0