NH3/NH4 should both be 0ppm or just NH3 be 0ppm

BRS

khittik

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
London
Dear all,

I have just set up my new salt water tank with Natural Sea Water. It has been more than a week and the tank should be fully cycled now.

I have done the test daily using API test kit (NH3/NH4) and the result is approximately 0.25ppm.

However, I have also bought a Seachem Amonia Alert and placed in the tank. It has been more than 4 days. It shows as safe zone: less than 0.02ppm. I believe this kit only tests NH3 which is free ammonia (un-ionized ammonia)

My question is: Can I put the fish and coral in the tank? Should I make sure NH3/NH4 are 0ppm or just have to make sure NH3 is 0ppm at all times?

Please help!

With kind regards

Khit Tik
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
22,935
Reaction score
18,778
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
tejas
I agree its a time- based contact sustain cycle vs one meant to move 2ppm down or some strict high ammonia amount


if there's enough attachment surface area, the bacteria will transfer and multiply faster than a small bioload would over power it.


The key is don't overload it too soon, I'd say closer to day fifteen submerged will give strong multiplication time
 

Jonify

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
609
Reaction score
1,219
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Washington, DC
If you have live rock, it's fine now. If you don't, I've never had issues with throwing in Dr. Tim's and fish at the same time, Day 1. Dr. Tims pulls down ammonia to zero in about 2-4 hours. I watched this happen with a Seneye once. It was pretty cool. .5 is the alarm zone, need to change the water. If you happen to swing back up to that, I would just add some Prime which will neutralize the ammonia for 24 hours, some more Dr. Tims, which will take care of it after the 24 hours, and then let it go. Never lost a fish and never had a fish act negatively to it.
 
Lazy's Coral House

zoa what

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
8,523
Reaction score
14,689
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cincinnati Ohio

NH3/NH4 should both be 0ppm or just NH3 be 0ppm​


If you have super radioactive isotopes Nihonium.... you better contact your County & State Hazmat Teams

half life tech GIF by Feliks Tomasz Konczakowski
 
OP
K

khittik

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
London
If you have live rock, it's fine now. If you don't, I've never had issues with throwing in Dr. Tim's and fish at the same time, Day 1. Dr. Tims pulls down ammonia to zero in about 2-4 hours. I watched this happen with a Seneye once. It was pretty cool. .5 is the alarm zone, need to change the water. If you happen to swing back up to that, I would just add some Prime which will neutralize the ammonia for 24 hours, some more Dr. Tims, which will take care of it after the 24 hours, and then let it go. Never lost a fish and never had a fish act negatively to it.
Thank you.
I checked Seneye monitor and it looks great. But it only monitors NH3 free ammonia, do we need to check NH4 as well or we need to check both NH3/NH4 because if we use only NH3 and (NH3/NH4) test, the results will be different? Should NH4 be our concerned
 

Garf

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
1,906
Reaction score
2,439
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
BEEFINGHAM
Thank you.
I checked Seneye monitor and it looks great. But it only monitors NH3 free ammonia, do we need to check NH4 as well or we need to check both NH3/NH4 because if we use only NH3 and (NH3/NH4) test, the results will be different? Should NH4 be our concerned
Folks check nh4+nh3 because it’s a constant whereas nh3 alone wobbles around in relation to pH mainly.

That said, both levels appear safe, and agree with each other at normal pH.
 
Last edited:

Jonify

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2017
Messages
609
Reaction score
1,219
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Washington, DC
Thank you.
I checked Seneye monitor and it looks great. But it only monitors NH3 free ammonia, do we need to check NH4 as well or we need to check both NH3/NH4 because if we use only NH3 and (NH3/NH4) test, the results will be different? Should NH4 be our concerned
NH3 is the form that is toxic to fish.
 
Lazy's Coral House
BRS

What do you use?

  • Gfo

    Votes: 23 6.4%
  • Carbon

    Votes: 133 36.9%
  • Carbon & GFO

    Votes: 117 32.5%
  • Water changes

    Votes: 245 68.1%
Top