NICREW HYPER REEF 50W --Any Experience on quality, coral growth and optimum mix?

davy31

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, so I wanted to explore further on lighting and the experience people have had with the Nicrew hyper reef kit. I have been using one for 4 months for my 120 liter aquarium. Having faced a pretty big catastrophe recently with my reef tank, I wanted to understand lighting better to help my corals grow.

I run the 50 Watt hyper reef for a soft coral tank and have a few questions for people who have any experience with the Nicrew for their reef.

1) Any idea what the wattage per LED is and is their par reading of PAR of 120 µMol at a depth of 60 cm correct? I having a feeling the cheap lights overstate their PAR
2) What channel mix is optimum for soft corals to help them grow faster and also the intensity?
3) Does lower intensity mean there is a lower PAR ? - This is more of a general question.
4) What kind of controller do you use for the 50W and do corals diffefrentiate between ramping up/down phases vs direct on/off times.
5) I would like to upgrade to an AI prime HD one day - Apart from the price point and controllability differences between AI and NIcrew - Is there really a big difference that corals would notice if I were to upgrade?

I have been struggling to have my softies feel happy in my tank and grow, they just wont open up. I have a few other threads with my water quality and problems I have faced recently. I am pretty new to the reefing game and would like to get my fundamentals strong.

Here is a pic of my tank with the Nicrew Hyper Reef 50W.
IMG_20211006_124325.jpg

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never used these lights, but I've always heard good things about them for the price. I'm not sure if you'd be interested in this, but here is a link to another thread from a few months ago where another user listed their par readings from this light.