Noob needs advice about a cannister filter

Paperfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good evening fine people,

I'm new to reefing.

I run a 52 gallon setup, been running for +- 9 months now. Cycling with dry rock seems to be... slow (but that's a different topic).
I have a cannister running as well with an external heater on it (I used to be in the fresh water side of the universe).

----> Now, can I leave the cannister out? <----

It might become a polluting bomb sooner or later.

My setup:

Tech used:

- Aqua Medic Aquarius 60 (led lights + controller... whites dimmed to max 10% - reds off - UV max 20%)
- Hydor Slim Skim protein skimmer Nano 250 (up to 66 gallon)
- Hydor EXTERNAL PROFESSIONAL FILTER 350 EU
- Hydor external heater 300W.
- Small filter that I use from time to time to run carbon
- Jecod/Jebao SLW-20 M wave maker (@100%)
- Tunze nanostream

Sand / rock

Sandbed: Red Sea Live Ocean White 0,25-1mm +- 1 to 2 inch.
Rock: AquaForest AF Rock Mix (dry rock)

Live stock:

- 3 Nassarius snails + 2 babies I've noticed :)
- 2 Trochus snails
- 1 Seahare (Dolabella Auricularia / eats a ton of algea / I feed nori sheets now and then to keep him healthy)
- 2 clownfish (Amphiprion Occelaris)
- 2 Filament-finned prawn-goby (Stonogobiops Nematodes)

Softies:

- Zoanthids (doing well)
- 2 x Sinularia Dura (doing well bright fluo green)
- 1 Pulsing Xenia (doing bad.. seems to be melting)

Other:

- I add bacteria daily
- I dose Iodine
- Copepods are doing fine :D

Love to hear from you old rods in the field.

Kind regards,
B

GARRIGA

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0