Noob Question

Ian Baxter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater and I’m running a 120g FOWLR tank. It’s been going for about 2.5 weeks and my LFS said I could put a few hardy fish in and they’ve been in for 10 days and doing really well. Of course I went to a new LFS and they said it wasn’t ready for fish yet and I added 100lbs of live rock on Sunday. Now I’ve got approx 130 lbs live rock with live sand. Do you think the fish will be okay? There’s 2 clowns, 2 damsels, and 3 cardinals. Also any advice on wave maker placement. I have two in there (one top right back and the other top left front) and you can’t turn the power down. They seem to be a little too strong. Any and all advice appreciated.
IMG_1237.JPG

IMG_0320.JPG

Old Fritz

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The water volume of the tank is pretty large and I'm guessing the fish you got aren't full grown so I feel they should be fine. Just keep an eye on your water params. Did you add anything to the tank to actually cycle it or did it just stand for a little over two weeks? If it just sat there with nothing in the tank I would wait a couple weeks before adding new fish because it means it wasn't actually cycled

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the 100 lbs of rock you added was live wet rock fr0m your LFS thats been soaking for a month or 2 you will be fine. I would still watch the ammonia level and buy a bottle of prime to have on hand just in case.

Mastiffsrule

Where ever you go, there you are, so be nice 2 you
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

The clowns and damsels can survive going thru a cycle. Not best scenario but with what you have like others mentioned keep an eye on ammonia and should be fine

OP
OP
Ian Baxter

Ian Baxter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0