Noob with a lot of questions

Texasfishkeeper

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I have a couple questions
Background info: Ive been running a 20g long saltwater tank for a month now with 2 regular clownfish and a Greenspotted puffer which I transitioned to full marine. And I’m 15 so I don’t have a lot of money to spend. Right now I’m trying to figure out what I’m rlly getting into if I get corals when it comes to money and equipment
1st question: so I’ve been keeping freshwater for 7 years so I have a bunch of extra equipment. So I just used a regular filter ( like the ones with a simple pad) do y’all think I need to get another filter so that I can put chemicals in it?
2nd: if I get a reef tank, what chemicals should I use to get the healthiest tank.
3rd: is anyone selling a used cheap light ( under a hundred) or know a cheap light that I should buy
4th: do you have stocking (coral and fish) recommendations for a tank with the livestock already in the tank. I rlly want to fill this up.
5th: how do I know how much flow I need in the tank because I’m buying a new power head today.

MaxxuM

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There's a series on YouTube by Inappropriate Reefer that can probably help you from A to Z. Reefing isn't cheap, but I know it can be done on a budget. I had my first reef tank when I was around 14 so I know it can be done. I just mowed neighbors yards and washed a lot of cars! I used those lights in the above video and they are fine and you may be able to find used ones too.

Watch those videos. Read these forums. And don't be in a hurry!

HuduVudu

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1st question: so I’ve been keeping freshwater for 7 years so I have a bunch of extra equipment. So I just used a regular filter ( like the ones with a simple pad) do y’all think I need to get another filter so that I can put chemicals in it?
Get a skimmer.