Nuvo Fusion 20 AIO

ReeferNick13

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys and gals I’m putting together a setup for a new tank and wanted to run my process by you all to see if there are any issues. I want to start curing my “MarcoRocks Reef Saver Dry Live Rock” as I don’t have my tank stand and everything set up yet. My plan is to put the rock in a bucket along with a heater and flow and dump a small bottle of Dr. Tim’s in. I plan to let this go for a week or two to give me time to get everything els set up then transfer the rock into my tank. Once I transfer the rock into the tank I was going to add another bottle of Dr. Tim’s along with some ceramic media balls to finish the curing/cycling process. I have a clownfish in another tank that I’m going to add to the new tank, when do I add it? After ammonia is 0 I should be safe to add the fish right? This is my first time using the dry rock so any suggestions or tips would be much appreciated. Please let me know if anyone spots a mistake or a better way to do this. I’m trying to get my tank started out on the right foot! Thank you for your time and have a great day and weekend.

GoVols

Cobb / Webb - 1989
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@NY_Caveman

Brain,
How long would you want to cure the rock before putting it in a tank?

Thanks!!

Here's the cycling thread

NY_Caveman

likes words, fish and arbitrary statistics
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Definitely start curing right away as you plan. You cannot cure it too long, LOL. If I were to test anything during the curing process it would be PO4. I would want to get a baseline when I start the rock and then test it here and there. I wouldn’t go crazy as it sounds like you have some time.