OCTO Classic 200-INT in a Waterbox 130.4?

ZzzDerekzzZ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
My name is Derek, and this is my first conversation on R2R, although I've been reading the threads here for a couple of months now, and have found some very valuable information here.

I hoping that one of you really smart reef tank people could give a Newb some advice on my Waterbox 130.4 set up.

I'm relatively new with the Aquarium thing; I had a 40 gallon aquarium about 1 year ago, and recently decided that I wanted something more interesting... so about 3 months ago I had my local Marine Aquarium shop set me up with a new Waterbox 130.4 with few bells and whistles. Do to my inexperience I let them pick out all the components and set this aquarium up for me. I now have many Apex Neptune components, a 25w UV Sterilizer and a OCTO CLASSIC 200 INT that’s taking up an estimated 85% of the floor space in the Skimmer Chamber of Waterbox my sump. (See Sump Diagram) With my heaters and Apex ATK set up in there I have very little space for anything else. As of now I'm still trying to figure out how to place some media in my Sump for bacteria to grow upon!

The Waterbox 130.4 has a 96.3 Gallon Display Tank with a with a 30.6 gallon Sump… I have very many rocks piled up in my display tank, with some live rocks mixed in from my old 40 gallon system. Minus my rocks, I have roughly estimated my total water volume at 115 gallons.

A couple of days ago I turned on my OCTO 200-INT Skimmer for the first time and it lowered my Sump volume by quite a bit, so I just shut it off to mix up a couple of Gallons of Red Sea Coral Pro salt to make up for the water volume change in my system when I kick on the power to my skimmer. This Skimmer has been sitting in my sump turned OFF up until the other day.