ok- only thing left is to empty tank completely and soak rock in acid- phophates still 0.90

https://www.triton.de/en/

Thaxxx

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
748
Reaction score
1,143
Location
Central Florida
Let's do a experiment.
Take a 1/2 gallon of tank water, add a gallon of fresh saltwater to it.
Then test. (Dulute if no change after first test.)
Why do all the trouble and waste of 150gal. water changes til you see what your levels are.
 

JimWelsh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 5, 2011
Messages
1,424
Reaction score
1,395
Location
Angwin, CA
Let's do a experiment.
Take a 1/2 gallon of tank water, add a gallon of fresh saltwater to it.
Then test. (Dulute if no change after first test.)
Why do all the trouble and waste of 150gal. water changes til you see what your levels are.
He has already tested a 10:1 dilution, and it is still maxing out the tester. Next step might be to try a 100:1 dilution (or dilute the 10:1 dilution by 10:1 a second time).
 

Thaxxx

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
748
Reaction score
1,143
Location
Central Florida
Or 10:1 fresh saltwater to tank water.
Can be ounces for that matter.
Plus test dulition if nessasary.
Getting to 100:1 test can get pretty exacting.
Another test you could do...
Take a cup of tank water, add 1 ml. of LC.
See what that does. If it doesn't move then, your LC has to be bad.
 
Last edited:
OP
deansreef

deansreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,423
Reaction score
646
Location
Earth
Try diluting the sample further? 1ml tank water 9ml rodi and then see if you get a usable reading on the Hanna and x10 that number.
ok, i used 1ml tank water and 9ml rodo, i got a reading of 0.86 * 10= 8.6... the LC is finally making a dent!!! yes :)
 

laverda

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,820
Reaction score
1,261
Location
Anaheim

laverda

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,820
Reaction score
1,261
Location
Anaheim
I do not know what to do. I removed all the rocks and did a 90 gallon water change po4 still at .9
Since all your corals are fine I would not switch to dry rock. That is just asking for other problems.
Also once you get the phosphate closer slow down on the dosing as you will participate Calcium if phosphate goes to zero.
 
OP
deansreef

deansreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,423
Reaction score
646
Location
Earth
ok, i used 1ml tank water and 9ml rodo, i got a reading of 0.86 * 10= 8.6... the LC is finally making a dent!!! yes :)
today it is a .62 when measured using 1ml of tank water and 9ml of ro/di... yes to progress! dosing 10ml a day of lanthunum chloride... so - if 20mls lowers po4 by .26 then i need about 345 mls of lanthanum to bring it down to 0.06ppm @Randy Holmes-Farley - does that calculate?
 
Last edited:

excell007

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
285
Reaction score
240
Location
Houston
today it is a .62 when measured using 1ml of tank water and 9ml of ro/di... yes to progress! dosing 10ml a day of lanthunum chloride... so - if 20mls lowers po4 by .26 then i need about 345 mls of lanthanum to bring it down to 0.06ppm @Randy Holmes-Farley - does that calculate?
Sad to say, but the answer is probably no. 6.2 is what you can test on the water, by now your rocks have already absorbed a lot and will leach it back to the water as your level goes down.
 
OP
deansreef

deansreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,423
Reaction score
646
Location
Earth
Sad to say, but the answer is probably no. 6.2 is what you can test on the water, by now your rocks have already absorbed a lot and will leach it back to the water as your level goes down
the rocks were all removed to a bucket and will be treated with muratic acid... there are no corals so i am not worried about adding dry rock to replace those rocks... i am adding the real reef rock and bacteria
 

excell007

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
285
Reaction score
240
Location
Houston
the rocks were all removed to a bucket and will be treated with muratic acid... there are no corals so i am not worried about adding dry rock to replace those rocks... i am adding the real reef rock and bacteria
I am surprise that you still have that much phospate without any rocks and after doing massive water change.
 
OP
deansreef

deansreef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
1,423
Reaction score
646
Location
Earth
ok, the result is 0.11 ppm phosphates now... ill add in the new real reef rock and slowly add 1 pc at a time of the old rock and start back up the geo calcium reactor and add some LPS test pieces
 
Last edited:
https://www.triton.de/en/

Do you have a frag tank, frag rack or some other place for coral frags currently?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 107 44.2%
  • No

    Votes: 130 53.7%
  • Other

    Votes: 5 2.1%

Online statistics

Members online
2,358
Guests online
5,760
Total visitors
8,118
Industrial Test Systems, Inc.
Top