ORP and PH Probes Incorrect?

Discussion in 'Neptune Systems' started by chrfrancis, May 16, 2018 at 9:24 AM.

  1. chrfrancis

    chrfrancis Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hello Everyone,

    This is my first time using an Apex and I am currently cycling my new tank. Below is what I am currently seeing after running the Apex for almost a week. Both the PH and ORP seem low, salinity and temp are spot on however after comparing them to my red sea refractometer and lab grade thermometer.

    Any ideas, could there be issues with these two probes?

    upload_2018-5-16_8-24-20.png
     
    Tags:

  2. Hanna Instruments

    Hanna Instruments Active Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Woonsocket, Rhode Island
  3. chrfrancis

    chrfrancis Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    55
  4. Hanna Instruments

    Hanna Instruments Active Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Woonsocket, Rhode Island
    Did the electrodes come with a cap filled with a solution when it was shipped?
     
  5. chrfrancis

    chrfrancis Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yep, it did.
     
  6. Hanna Instruments

    Hanna Instruments Active Member R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Woonsocket, Rhode Island
    You could always get more calibration fluid for both the ORP and pH electrode. First clean off the probe with DI water then submerge each probe in their respective solution without entering calibration mode to check if the values are within the electrode's accuracy statement. Just make sure to use fresh calibration buffers.
     
  7. Yati

    Yati Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Sacramento
    It's going to take a while for ORP to read correctly, it took mine a few weeks it will slowing increase daily but if you're not using ozone that number may not be imperative. As far as your PH is concerned if you calibrated it (more than once) I would trust the lab grade probe over the kit but you can go to you LFS as a 3rd opinion... since you're cycling your tank, I assume there is no stock, so if you have some ph buffer you can dose to see if the probe then read the buffer point and that will tell you for sure... thats another thought..
     
    chrfrancis likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...