ORP/EC meter probes and ranges

Sral

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everybody.

As you might know I have been working on an EC circuit and have also suggested to @robsworld78 that his pH circuit might actually be also suited to measure ORP.
Now two questions about that, since I have no practical experience about saltwater tanks or aquariums in general:
  • How well do plastic vs glass bodied probes hold up to saltwater in your experience ?
    • what kinds of plastic hold up better or worse in your experience ?
  • What are the ranges of ORP (in mV) that you would personally be interested in ?
  • What are the ranges of EC or TDS (in µS/cm or ppm) that you would personally be interested in ?

theatrus

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everybody.

As you might know I have been working on an EC circuit and have also suggested to @robsworld78 that his pH circuit might actually be also suited to measure ORP.
Now two questions about that, since I have no practical experience about saltwater tanks or aquariums in general:
  • How well do plastic vs glass bodied probes hold up to saltwater in your experience ?
    • what kinds of plastic hold up better or worse in your experience ?
  • What are the ranges of ORP (in mV) that you would personally be interested in ?
  • What are the ranges of EC or TDS (in µS/cm or ppm) that you would personally be interested in ?

Correct. ORP probes are very similar to pH probes and usually you can just use the same high impedance buffer circuit. It helps if you have some programmable gain as well.

That said, I don't monitor ORP at all. It can probably pinpoint some interesting effects so maybe I should :)

As for EC, I'm either in salt water or in "0" TDS RODI water and nothing in between.

OP
OP
S

Sral

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0