Parasites in my tank & How do I setup medicine/qt tank?

leilanastasia

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alright, so I have parasite outbreaks like ich. I am wondering what is the best way to setup a medicine/quarantine tank. I got a Fluval over the back filter and took the carbon out and instead put in zeolite for the ammonia. I also have a heater and airstone. Does the tank itself need to cycle like a display? If I'm being completely honest, I have no idea.. Just don't want my fish to die if I put 'em in there. Gotta do it right. I'm pretty new to the hobby, 6 months in. I have a reef safe ich medication (medic from polyp lab) on the way but since I live in AK it is going to take at least a week before it gets here. Right now though, I've only got Paraguard on hand and it's definitely not reef safe lol. I also have a UV sterilizer on the way to hopefully help with the parasites? I don't believe it will completely eradicate them but maybe it will help with the population? Lmk please :p

Basically, if I have parasites in my water like ich, and other internal parasitic bacteria, does the bacteria just stay in there and reproduce more? What else, if anything, do I need for the medicine/quarantine tank? Do I need to cycle the quarantine/medicine tank or can I just put a fish in right away? Will the UV sterilizer work decently to get the population down on the parasites? How long should I be quarantining and/or medicating fish for in the qt tank?

If you guys have any recommendations and ideas, I have open ears. :)

Last edited:

Suohhen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0