Phyto culture container growing algae?

Jason K

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first attempt at culturing phyto. Started out with a very “thin” starting culture of oceanmagik (~10% of total solution). Solution at 1.017 salinity w f2 dosed per bottle instructions. Photo below is 5 days in. Solution is definitely getting greener I think, but I’m getting dust algae growing on the sides and bottom of the container. Is this bad? Should I scrap and start over?
BF58ECB7-4BAE-4412-9DDF-B042BD5C7F41.jpeg

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I doubt that the phytoplankton will be ruined from growing up with an ugly container. I would work with it for now and keep feeding the tank as you go.

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Idk much about phyto, accept it crashes extremely easy, some people use new containers every batch. This is a good live stream with dong Zou, he touches base on how he does phyto for many years, there is some good information to pick up from it.

:) :)

kilnakorr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Idk much about phyto, accept it crashes extremely easy, some people use new containers every batch. This is a good live stream with dong Zou, he touches base on how he does phyto for many years, there is some good information to pick up from it.

:) :)

I find that not to be true.
I used to clean everything really good when I started, but now I just rinse in tapwater. Doesn't seem to effect the results at all.

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I used to clean everything really good when I started, but now I just rinse in tapwater. Doesn't seem to effect the results at all.