Placement of gyre in peninsula tank

David Cher

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi

Need some advice as havin issue with flow In sps tank . I have 2x gyre 250 and I have placed it horizontally on the top of the tank and over flow box is on the right hand side of the tank . The left one is blowing water directly in the over flow box and not bouncing the water back

1de578c94101d4a209c2b5af636926f3.jpg

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi

Need some advice as havin issue with flow In sps tank . I have 2x gyre 250 and I have placed it horizontally on the top of the tank and over flow box is on the right hand side of the tank . The left one is blowing water directly in the over flow box and not bouncing the water back

1de578c94101d4a209c2b5af636926f3.jpg
Let me start by saying I have no experience with gyres or with peninsula tanks. But could you do one horizontally at the top pushing the water to the other side, and put one on the same wall near the bottom in reverse so pull in water, to kind of make a loop effect and alternate them every couple hours so top one pulls in and bottom one pushes out?

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like my power head to blow into my overflow, thinking it keeps the tank surface clean. I do shut it down when I feed.

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My suggestion, would to have them in the opposite of the overflow, pulling up and pushing the water towards the overflow.

roberthu526

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Disagree. I have two XF280's and even at 100% there is almost no noise.