Please help!! Fish keep dying

gshoff87

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me start this by saying I am VERY new to the saltwater community so my apologies if I don’t use correct terms or sound dumb. 3 months ago I bought a waterbox cube 20 set up. The tank has fully cycled and all levels are within normal/functional range. For two months I had a very happy and jolly pair of clownfish. As time progressed I decided to add a hammer and a torch. Around the time my tank started to have a smell, the water wasn’t as clean as I would like it to be. So a friend recommended I put in a bag of chemi pure blue. Within 2 days water looked awesome and corals and fish were happy.

All of a sudden I noticed one night while cleaning my tank that my clowns were acting funny, panting and almost completely laying on the bottom. I even tried putting a pinch of pellets in to see if they got energetic as the normally do and nothing. Fast forward two days later and both have died. Immediately after I checked all levels in my water and yet again everything looked “normal”.

So today I went to my local fish store and bought two clowns and a blue damsel, I drip acclimated and got them in the tank. I went outside for 2 hours maybe and by the time I came back in the blue damsel was dead and the two clowns were on their way out. my two corals are perfect, I’ve got 4 hermits and two snails that are business as usual, but fish perish almost immediately. Could it be the chemi pure blue? Do I have a crazy parasite? I’m thinking of doing the fishless period for 6 weeks. Does anyone else have suggestions?

ihavecrabs

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0