Possibly brooklynella?

flatreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello I'm new to reefing,

Just came back from a camping trip and installed my new hydra 32 HD and mounting arm,

I noticed white patches and a cloudy eye on my clown fish :(

I just would like to hear yalls opinion on what your diagnoses would be,

I'm leaning towards brooklynella but I'm also a novice, so before I head to my LFS I figured I'd see what you guys think, and what I need to get

Thanks
20210516_104530.jpg
20210516_104533.jpg

Suohhen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks bacterial to me. You can read up on it here.
but wait for the experts to respond before taking any action.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Yeppers- Brooklynella
At the onset, fish may scrape up against objects, rapid respiration develops, and fish often gasp for air at the surface as the gills become clogged with mucus. Very quickly the fish will become lethargic, refuse to eat, and its colors will fade. The most noticeable symptom of Brooklynella is the heavy amount of slime that is produced by a fish that has contracted this parasite. As the disease progresses, a thick whitish mucus covers the body. This will usually start at the head and spread outward across the entire body. Skin lesions appear and it is not uncommon for signs of secondary bacterial infections.
Typical treatment is a standard formalin solution is mixed with either fresh or saltwater in a separate treatment container. Initially, all fish are given a quick dip in the formalin at a higher concentration, followed by continued treatment in a prolonged bath of formalin at a lower concentration in a quarantine tank (QT). Of course, the longer the fish are exposed to the formalin treatment, the more effective it will be at eliminating this disease.