Pro Clear ProStar 90 Gallons or 150 Gallons

DeadEnd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I am new to this world and I am going to be purchasing my first tank this week but I and hesitant about the size and color.

I am looking to buy a Pro Clear ProStar but I don't know what size should I go with. I really love the size of the 150 but I am afraid of the maintenance cost difference between both tanks. Someone at an aquarium told me that they paid like $150 of electricity a month for the tank.

Also maybe someone can give me their opinion between the tank stand color? White vs Black! It's a hard choice lol

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
DeadEnd

DeadEnd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
90 is an all around good starting size. i wish i could find a second hand 90g in my area
That's what I thought too. I am a coral person but my wife loves fish that's why I was thinking about the 150 gal one

Yates273

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As far as color that’s your preference. I like black but that’s me. Go with the larger one. The cost from a 90 to 150 is not much more. Trust me if you do the 90 eventually you will want to go bigger. Do it once and be done with it. As you start off you don’t need all the bells and whistles. Start basic and add on as you go. Lighting will depend on what kind of tank you plan on keeping. That will potentially be one of your more expensive purchases if you go with one of the more popular brands. There are plenty of people here who use the black box led. Ultimately it will be up to your budget which you will blow through.

OP
OP
DeadEnd

DeadEnd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0