Protein Skimmer - what model would be best for my setup?

mr.lordacan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I’m new to the reef hobby (~5 months) and I’m looking to purchase a protein skimmer for my tank. The issue I’m having is that I can’t find a protein skimmer with the appropriate recommended water level height. My setup is:
-Aqueon rimmed 40G breeder tank
-Fiji Cube AIO (skimmer compartment dimensions are 4.4” x 6.7”)
- water column height in AIO is ~13”

finding a protein skimmer with the correct footprint is easy enough, the problem I’m finding is that the recommended water level seem to vary between 6-10” depending on the models.

I guess I’m ultimately looking for suggestions on a protein skimmer or if this is a common issue with AIOs? Is the recommended water level a make/break on protein skimmer efficiency (I’m assuming yes)?

CoralB

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Their are a lot of good skimmers out there but I’ve been partial to the octo regal series as it has a built in auto shut off so as to to not overflow the cup . Plus they are great skimmers . Depending on the size of your opening a 150 int model might suit your needs . Good luck !!! :cool: Plus it’s adjustable to water levels

OP
OP
mr.lordacan

mr.lordacan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Their are a lot of good skimmers out there but I’ve been partial to the octo regal series as it has a built in auto shut off so as to to not overflow the cup . Plus they are great skimmers . Depending on the size of your opening a 150 int model might suit your needs . Good luck !!! :cool: Plus it’s adjustable to water levels
It’s def over my price range atm, but I’ll have to keep in mind when I upgrade lol. In the meantime, Notorious recommended a protein skimmer stand that I’ll probably try out!

NotoriousDMC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0