Purple up

MidWestMike

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new in the hobby and have just recently started adding corals to my tank. One that I bought came attached to a 4lb rock that was covered in coraline algae. I was talked into purchasing a bottle of "purple up" along with the rock, but after reading the instructions I've been iffy about using it, my tank is still young and I'd hate to get off to a bad start by throwing off my water chemistry. Anyone have experience with this product? Good/bad

Sent Via the R2R Forum APP

grumpy-crab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ive always used it but i have only had FOWLR but i know it does help coralline grow alot. Maybe another reefer can weigh in on the coral side.

Downbeach

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think you're wasting your money. Get some kalk (Mrs. Wages Pickling Lime) and start using it in your top off water, up to 2 tsp. per gallon. You also want to make sure your N's and P's are low, high levels of PO4 will inhibit coral growth.

GoTakeANap

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I think you're wasting your money. Get some kalk (Mrs. Wages Pickling Lime) and start using it in your top off water, up to 2 tsp. per gallon. You also want to make sure your N's and P's are low, high levels of PO4 will inhibit coral growth.

Guessing this pickling lime is the same thing as the purple up? Ive used purple up before. It does work.

tbone74

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pickling Lime is Calcium Hydroxide. It is also known as kalk. It dissolves in the water and is used to stabilize pH, raise calcium and alkalinity.

GoTakeANap

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Pickling Lime is Calcium Hydroxide. It is also known as kalk. It dissolves in the water and is used to stabilize pH, raise calcium and alkalinity.