Purpose of Mercury in aquarium salt?

Citruspeel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the hobby and have been looking for salt mixes. I was looking at Tropic Marin's website and in their salt ingredients they put Mercury as one of the trace elements. I'm a bit confused. Is there a use for mercury by aquarium inhabitants?

Also is this alright or would the mercury somehow accumulate after using the salt a lot overtime? I looked at other brands and they don't list mercury anywhere. But is it safe to assume that other salts also have mercury as a trace element because it's in natural seawater? Or is this just a Tropic Marin thing?

d7d338329fa33071c11bcf632e50a96e.png

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There is mercury in the ocean and it would likely be very low concentrations (non-detect!).
Best guy to answer this is Randy, and heres a link to his Triton test results with discussion.

Lou Ekus

Tropic Marin USA
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the hobby and have been looking for salt mixes. I was looking at Tropic Marin's website and in their salt ingredients they put Mercury as one of the trace elements. I'm a bit confused. Is there a use for mercury by aquarium inhabitants?

Also is this alright or would the mercury somehow accumulate after using the salt a lot overtime? I looked at other brands and they don't list mercury anywhere. But is it safe to assume that other salts also have mercury as a trace element because it's in natural seawater? Or is this just a Tropic Marin thing?

d7d338329fa33071c11bcf632e50a96e.png