Question on dosing calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium with jebao dosing pump

Stevenpandas

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I’m fairly new to the saltwater side of the hobby and trying to figure out how to hook up my jebao dosing pump for calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium.
My tank is roughly 70 gallons. It is a 20 gallon long connected to a 55 gallon which goes into a 10 gallon sump/ refugium. I got about 50 pounds of rock and one bag of live sand.
I recently got more corals and a clam (3 days ago) and been monitoring my calcium, alkalinity, and magnesium. I use Red Sea test pro kit. My calcium is around 400ppm, alkalinity about 8.4dkh, and magnesium 1400 ppm. They have been stable for the last three days. However based on my Red Sea coral pro salt mix and having a mixed reef tank, I need calcium to be 450 ppm, alkalinity 11.5 dkh, and magnesium 1360.
I use Red Sea liquid additives and
I plugged in the numbers into a reef calculator. I need to add 66 ml of calcium and 81 ml of alkalinity. That’s seems a lot to me. Might be the rest of the bottle of my alkalinity. I’m thinking of making my own soda ash with baking soda in the near future. Attach is the photo.
I am going to wait for my one week to see how much it my levels are changing. I haven’t gotten to calibrating my dosing pumps with 100 mls and set the system. I just want some advices/ tips from people more knowledgeable before I do anything to my tank.

5E055113-2BEB-497F-9CAC-557A023BEEBD.png

alain Bouchard

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
those levels looks good enough to me. Dont run after numbers, its a waste of time, and risk doing more bad than good. (as long as your in range) look between each water change how much has been consumed and adjust dosing accordingly.

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0