Quick question on my 20'' External Overflow box!

Discussion in 'Synergy Reef Systems' started by FLSharkvictim, Oct 28, 2017.

  1. FLSharkvictim

    FLSharkvictim Shark Advocates Intl R2R Supporter West Palm Beach Reefer Tampa Bay Reef Keepers Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    501
    Location:
    Redington Beach, FL
    I want to make sure that i have all the correct parts the first time around. Just got my SC Aquarium SC-150 Rimless Reef tank, Stand, and Canopy. Since my tank has been custom pre-drilled from SC Aquariums for a 20'' external overflow box just want to make sure I need a couple of things

    Should I buy the internal and external custom pre-cut Sch 40 PVC pips that you prefabricated for your boxes on your website?

    In regards, to the

    Overflow Internal Pipe Kit 1. 1.5" PVC (RED) × 1 ?
    Overflow External Pipe Kits 1.5" PVC (RED) × 1?


    Capture.JPG

    Red_2.5_7_kit.jpg

    Red_4_Kit.png

    synergy#4.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2017

  2. justingraham

    justingraham Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor NJRC Member Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    4,030
    Likes Received:
    3,878
    I would make them and save urself some cash esp because those are only guidelines and may have to be adjusted down the line

    Go to Home Depot and grab urself some 1.5 black abs.

    Don’t forget to get a chamfer bit for ur rotor while ur there and a pvc cutter
     
  3. WWIII

    WWIII Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor LMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    4,413
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    If you buy the overflow they come with all the pipes needed inside amd everything to hook to tank. Then just use regular pvc to finish your plumbing. I recommend medium clear pvc cement to connect plumbing to box. ABS transition cement should not be used. I know from experience! It's a great overflow though, I have 3 of them.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...