Radion XR-15 G4 to T5/Hybrid w/ Par Readings- Help with plan of Attack

abuch010

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just upgraded my lighting over my IM Lagoon 25 Gallon tank from a single Radion XR-15 G4 Pro (with Diffuser) to the AquaticLife LED/T5 Hybrid. From front to back, my bulbs are ATI B+, P+, C+, B+. I'm running a modified AB+ Spectrum on my Radion. This is my first time combining lights and would like some advice on which setting to go with. Keep in mind these bulbs only have about 2hrs on them so far.

I'll start out with the spectrum I'm running on my Radion G4 Pro Currently. 100% point intensity, running at 50% schedule intensity. I'm seeing growth, but not as much as I'd like. I ramp up from 10a-11a, with peak intensity running from 11a-6p, with a ramp down and moonlight period to 11pm.
IMG_8429.jpeg

For starters, here's the baseline PAR I'm seeing with just the Radion mounted 9" above the tank. (Same height as the RMS mount)
50percentNoT5.jpg

With the light running at 50%, here are the PAR values when the T5s are on.
50percentT5.jpg

For science, I also recorded PAR with T5s on at various LED intensities.

40% w/ T5s
40percentT5.jpg

30% w/ T5's
300percentT5.jpg

20% w/ T5's
20percentT5.jpg

T5's only
0percentT5.jpg

I just started incorporating the T5's for 1hr each day at the current 50% LED setting. My plan was to increase the duration by 1hr each week until I'm running at the full 7hrs peak photoperiod. Does that sound like a good plan? I'm keeping a mixed reef with mainly SPS/LPS. Does the 50% with T5's look like too much PAR? I'm mainly concerned about my Euphillya/Acans.

Thanks, and I hope these readings are helpful to others with similar tank/lights.

tsouth

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The plan looks sound. Great job on doing the readings!