Radion xr30 gen 2 won’t connect to reeflink

BRS

plankton

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
126
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Bought two xr30 gen 2 lights here, did fan clean procedure, lights work perfectly well via three button controls. Added reeflink to network but reeflink can’t find radion lights. Tried to connect with several usb to micro cables from light to reeflink but in evotechlive de nada. Just created ticket with eco tech marine to disassociate these lights from previous owner but not sure what to do next.

any thoughts how to pair them to reeflink so I can factory reset and upgrade firmware, etc?

thanks

Scott
 
Fritz

mdb_talon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
2,688
Location
Illinois
Have you tried connecting using pc? This may allow you to see if it is an issue with reeflink or lights themselves.
 

Ta2oodfreak

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
226
Reaction score
371
Location
Chicago
Did you add the chip to the light? I don't believe Gen 2 is compatible with reeflink. That didn't start until G4.
On the Radion site there is a compatibility chart that tells you what is and isn't and if you need a chip of just firmware.
 
BRS
OP
plankton

plankton

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
126
Location
Pleasanton, CA
"All models of Radion Generations 1-4 are compatible with one another via EcoSmart Live."

Yeah, I know I can't connect to Mobius app, but I _should_ be able to connect them to Reeflink and control via ecotechlive _or_ to my APEX via WXM module. But, first I would like to connect them to reeflink so I can flash reset and flash firmware. <sigh>
 
OP
plankton

plankton

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
126
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Reeflink can connect to those lights, was the reeflink used ? If so you need to contact ecotech to get them erased from the previous owner.

Good point. When I first tried to connect reeflink I kept getting error then previous owner of reeflink disassociated device from his ecotechlive account and like magic I was able to add reeflink device to my account. Done. Do you think I need to contact previous owner of xr30 gen 2 lights and have them disssociate lights from heir ecotechlive account???
 

Henryb9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
75
Location
Highland park, NJ
If you want to connect to using a usb micro do these steps first.

1. power off all radions and don’t have the micro usb attached.
2. Open and run EcoSmart live connection manager.
3. Right click the connection manager icon and select “go to EcoSmart live..”
4. Don’t log in yet, however power on the radions and attach the micro usb cable to your radion and computer.
5. Now log in to EcoSmart live and should work.
6. repeat again for the other lights.
 

Henryb9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
75
Location
Highland park, NJ
Good point. When I first tried to connect reeflink I kept getting error then previous owner of reeflink disassociated device from his ecotechlive account and like magic I was able to add reeflink device to my account. Done. Do you think I need to contact previous owner of xr30 gen 2 lights and have them disssociate lights from heir ecotechlive account???
I mean you could do that but ecotech is very fast, I emailed them last night and they removed it this mornings
 

Henryb9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
75
Location
Highland park, NJ
Good point. When I first tried to connect reeflink I kept getting error then previous owner of reeflink disassociated device from his ecotechlive account and like magic I was able to add reeflink device to my account. Done. Do you think I need to contact previous owner of xr30 gen 2 lights and have them disssociate lights from heir ecotechlive account???
For the lights you don’t have to.
 

Henryb9

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
236
Reaction score
75
Location
Highland park, NJ
475F12AC-87D4-4594-8557-293723BBEEBE.jpeg
D146B3F7-A947-447B-A6A1-7071B0D796C8.jpeg
 
OP
plankton

plankton

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
126
Location
Pleasanton, CA
If you want to connect to using a usb micro do these steps first.

1. power off all radions and don’t have the micro usb attached.
2. Open and run EcoSmart live connection manager.
3. Right click the connection manager icon and select “go to EcoSmart live..”
4. Don’t log in yet, however power on the radions and attach the micro usb cable to your radion and computer.
5. Now log in to EcoSmart live and should work.
6. repeat again for the other lights.
Thanks Henry. According to ecotechmarine it shouldn't have worked because I already have reeflink connect and you can't have both connection manager and reeflink active BUT I do and I was able to follow the above steps and connect to my radions xr40 gen 2 (plugged in but not powered on), factory reset and flash firmware upgrade. Thanks!!!!!
 
OP
plankton

plankton

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
297
Reaction score
126
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Just some notes if other face similar challenge. I had to contact previous owner of reeflink to disassociate from their ecotechlive account then was able to add to my account. Then followed Henry’s steps to connect devices to echtechlive via connection manager using blessed cable. I have six cables but only two worked! ECL automatically did factory reset, firmware upgrade and rebooted radions once connected via good cable. Then final act was rebooting everything, then once in ECL then creating new tank, dragging devices found from reeflink, naming them and programming schedule.

later I’ll work on pairing with Neptune module so I can do schedule from apex fusion but u can’t have both (reeflink, and paired with WXM module- one or the other)
 
Zoanthids
The Random Flow Generator® Nozzle by VCA
Top